TO A FRIEND

With the thought of breathing cities apart

The blood in my veins rushes with anxiety

And my weak stupid heart sinks

When I look at the distance that lay between

And I wonder if the thread that’s been overstretched

To keep you tied to me in this knot of togetherness

Stenched by love that surpasses society’s grasp

Of the philosophy of friendship and the platonian touch

Of a spirit and its print on another like on mine

By yours and the lit vision it offers in my shadow days.

The benevolence you show in my grey madness,

The warmth with which you handle my cold words

And occasional scolding to push me back in my sanity.

I only hope to be yours what you are to me.

5 thoughts on “TO A FRIEND

Leave a Reply

